Quick Review – Lexington and 42nd by Kim Carmody

“Lexington and 42nd was a hot, steamy romance that follows a realistic plot.

First of all, I loved the fact that this book was semi-realistic – it took time for the characters’ relationship to build! These characters didn’t just look at each other and fall in love. They went through romantic stages, they fought, they took in considerations like life choices and all the fun parts about being an adult before they made a decision. And as boring as that sounds, Kim Carmody made it thrilling and addicting!

These characters were also made very realistic. They weren’t perfect, cookie-cutter characters – they had flaws and reasoning behind their actions. This made the book more interesting, since these characters had problems to face that wasn’t just ‘wow some guy doesn’t think I’m hot’!

As a sports lover, this book was also quite the charmer. I don’t like football, but it gave a realistic view into the life of a sport’s fan (even if Emma isn’t the biggest fan in the world).

Now, the “problems”:
While there was conflict in the story, it wasn’t very big. It was briefly touched on and seemed more like the side plot of the story. But, this is mainly a romance novel so it is understandable. This conflicting conflict might bug some readers.

Our main character was incredibly emotional, but that could just be how the character was built. I just find that having an emotional character might bug some readers (even though it shows she is a well built character to other readers).

Overall, I enjoyed this novel. It impressed me! I am definitely going to pick up the second book if I ever find it!

Five out of five stars!
I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.”

 

This review is on my Goodreads profile.

~Briar

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

