Quick Book Review: Opal Summerfield and the Battle of Fallmoon Gap by Caldwell Jones

18816475

Photo courtesy of Goodreads.

 

Opal Summerfield and the Battle of Fallmoon Gap was an interesting read by Mark Caldwell Jones.

Opal Summerfield left me feeling a little confused – the book seemed like it was trying to go for a young reader vibe (like 8-12) but it was written for a Young Adult age group. It was still an incredible book, but I couldn’t figure out where it sat.

There was lots of action, but it didn’t keep a lot of my attention. It was beautifully written and it was truly incredible, but it wasn’t my kind of book. I feel like I am a bit above the age group for this book – it didn’t connect with me like other young age grouped novels (like Percy Jackson and Harry Potter).

Nonetheless, it was still an amazing book. Opal is a well developed character who would sit beautifully with young female readers. She’s strong and stands for herself, and she’s very heart warming. I would definitely read this book to a child!! It’s morale boosting!! It gives you a feeling like you can do anything!

The book is very imaginative and it original. Many books seem to follow the same path over and over, but Opal Summerfield was a breath of fresh air. It’s not based on some ooey gooey romance – it’s action based and has fantasy aspects. If you want a different read that is clearly original, pick this up! It feels like a young reader’s Indiana Jones!

There are constant twists and action and adventure at every turn! It’s truly breath taking!

For a debut, it was great! It just didn’t have me personally hooked. A younger reader base would love this!!

Three out of five stars – it didn’t get me hooked, but I’m looking forward to Mark Caldwell Jones making more books – he’s an amazing writer!

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

