Quick Book Review: Perfectly Flawed by Shakeerah Oatis

Perfectly Flawed was an interesting take on a soap-opera like family.

I enjoyed Perfectly Flawed for it’s story, but it definitely had it’s “flaws” (sorry, the puns are to hard to hold back on this one) that left me feeling cheated as a reader.

The story itself focuses on the African American Community and some of the stereotypes and flaws within these stereotypes – teenage mothers, mental illness, etc. It’s taboo to discuss these topics, so children grow up and end up repeating the same mistakes. We follow Adrian and her daughter Aaliyah, and discover where secrets can lead a family.

The story is realistic – a teenage mother who didn’t want a child but ended up in a bad situation. It opens my eyes to a world I don’t know about, and the plot was a great idea!

But – there is a but – my print version of this had many grammatical errors. These errors had words missing, the wrong word choice/spelling, and run-on sentences. The errors made it super hard to read, and it made me feel like this book hadn’t gone through the editing process. I may have an ARC, which means the final version of the book would have all of this fixed, but I honestly don’t know if it’s the ARC or a real copy. If these errors were fixed, the book would be perfect and flawless. I love the idea of this story, but it just feels like it wasn’t well written in word choice.

Overall, I’m not totally impressed with my copy of the book. It could have been a spectacular story!

Three out of five stars.

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

