Quick Book Review: Asylum by Madeleine Roux

 

13597728

Photo via Goodreads.

I got this book from a local book store as an Advanced Reader’s Copy. Before I read it, I did my research on the book and all the reviews I found told me how boring and stupid the book was.

I disagree to these reviews.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book far more than I expected. It did start off a little slow, but once I got into the book I was addicted instantly. I wanted to know more about the characters and the back story of the New Hampshire College Prep and how it used to be an Asylum.

The plot was fun to follow, and I couldn’t guess the ending (which rarely happens! So this book was quite the gem). Some of the aspects of the plot were predictable, but it took wild turns that I didn’t see coming, so I enjoyed it.

It did bother me a bit reading this before I went to bed, since it unsettled me a few times when I left off at a more ‘scary’ chapter, but it wasn’t really that scary or a horrible read.

I really enjoyed this book! I did wish there was more pictures to go along with each chapter instead of just one every few (this book has illustrations that goes along with some chapters for added effect). I loved this aspect of the book though! Having illustrations added more insight into the novel and made me more interested in the story.

Overall, an amazing book and I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel!
Five out of five stars!

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

