Quick Book Review: Tangled Lives by Hilary Boyd

20299855

Photo via Goodreads.

This book was very believable and easy to read, but very slow and boring in my opinion.

This story follows Annie Delancey and her happy, grown family as the child she gave up for adoption while she was a teenager tries to contact her. This ends up causing trouble within the family and the story follows this very drama.

While the drama that occurred was believable, I found that a little bit more action or drama could have happened to make the story more interesting. While more drama might have made it seem less realistic, it also would have made for a better novel.

The story moved very slowly, but the writing was very beautiful. The descriptions and word choices by the author made it a very beautiful read. Once I got about two thirds into the book, I did find myself hooked to the story since I wanted to find out what was happening to the characters.

I found the ending to be quite lame and uneventful. I expected an interesting ending that showed how the characters were years later, instead of a small summary of a random event to the family.

I did enjoy this book, and I would suggest it to other people but I would not read the book again. Well written with a believable plot, but not the most attractive read to keep you hooked onto the book.

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

3 out of 5 stars.

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

