Quick Book Review: Carrie by Stephen King

 

 

10592

Image via Goodreads.

I have always wanted to pick up Carrie and I finally was able to find a copy of it.

Since I saw many film adaptions of this book first, it was kind of weird reading the different viewpoints of the novel – but it worked. I enjoyed reading the different perspectives within the novel, it gave a special insight into the minds of everyone else, something many books lack.

I definitely didn’t find it scary. It made me feel horrible for the treatment of the girl, and it made me understand why she was so evil, but I wasn’t scared. The films left me a lot more horrified then the book did (and books have left me scared before. The first Temperance Brennan book did just that).

It was well written – the writing style was strange at times, but it’s easy to follow.

I was definitely amazed at the idea behind this book. How did Stephen King think this up? That thought went through my mind numerous times while reading. It’s a wonderful idea and he did it justice.

Overall, it was a good story and I want to read more by Stephen King. He’s quite the genius!

Four out of five stars.

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

