Quick Book Review: Bone Idol by David Louden

18342084

Photo via Goodreads.

Bone Idol (bohn ahyd-l), despite confusing me by the titles, was a really nice read! And by really nice, I mean it kept me hooked, interesting and on my edge about what was going to happen next to the main character.

I enjoyed reading about the main character as he grew up, but I sometimes felt a little confused as to what age stage he was at. I did my best to guess at what age he was at while I was reading it, but I sometimes found it a struggle to understand if he was still a preteen or a teenager yet.

I found the novel was just perfectly long enough to not get me bored and wishing for it to end. I was almost begging for more when I got to the last chapter. I would definitely want to continue reading this series if another book came out and followed the lead character or his family again.

One word of advice was that I would have liked a more clear plot. I wasn’t exactly sure what was going on for a complete plot, other than following the character as he grew up. Yes, I understand it was somewhat an autobiography but I would have loved a clear plot to the stories.

I did enjoy this book and I would recommend it to many readers who want a different read, that is a fictional themed novel but has a more real life setting while you follow the character.

Four out of five stars, due to the lack of a continuing plot and the age confusion I experienced while trying to figure out how old the lead character, Doug, was throughout the novel.

Amazing book nonetheless!

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

