Quick Book Review: Zodiac by Romina Russell

Due to Black Moon’s release day, I’ve decided  to post a throwback review of Zodiac! I received an ARC when it first came out! Yay Romina! Congrats on release day!!!

20821306

Photo via Goodreads.

 

Zodiac was a charming novel that featured an amazing original idea.

At first, I found Zodiac to be a really slow and boring start. The author introduces many words and places in her universe that weren’t explained well, but as the story progressed I began to understand the language she made up for her fictional universe. Once the book got going, I found that I had myself hooked onto the story and I wanted to know more about the characters. I even began to feel for the characters, which is always a good sign for the book!

The start was slow, which made the novel hard to read. I almost put the book down three times due to how boring I found the start to be. Once I was three-fourths into the book, I was hooked, but I would suggest the author to make the story a little more enticing towards the beginning instead of the end.

I felt like I needed a Zodiac style dictionary for some of the words used in the novel. The author explains the words once or twice, and then they are used constantly. Sometimes I needed a little reminder of what Psynergy was or other terms that aren’t used in day to day life. But, this author is making her own universe so the new words were used in a good way! Her own fictional universe deserved it’s own language!

I liked the character development and the twists and turns of the novel! While the book was slow, the action that did occur was appreciated. I loved the development of the story and the different pieces of action that happened. I would have liked to see more of the different Zodiacs involved in this novel if I had to choose anything to fix about the plot.

Overall, I did enjoy this book! I liked reading it and I found it to be an original and well thought out idea! I can’t wait to read the next one now that I’m hooked on the first!

Four out of five stars for Zodiac, due to the slow start.

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

