February Romance Book Review: Fantasy (Visitation, North Carolina 0.5) by Lori Foster

511581

Photo via Goodreads.

Book Review:
Title: Fantasy
Author: Lori Foster
Date Read: September 17th – October 14th, 2016
Date Reviewed: October 14th, 2016

Introduction: I went to a local book store since they were having a clearance and I found many short but sweet novellas by Lori Foster floating around. After I bought many, this was the one I decided to start with. After months of this book disappearing around my house, I was finally able to find it and get down to reading it. The only reason it took so long to read was because of my busy schedule. It was a quick, sexy read despite my lengthy reading time.

Spoilers Ahead?: Yes!!

Quick Summary: Brandi Sommers bids on a man at an auction, only to please her sister. To her surprise, she gets stuck with security consultant Sebastian Sinclair for an all expenses paid, honeymoon vacation. When the two of them are forced to be together, emotions flutter and drama ensues.

Evaluations: This book is sexy and emotional. It definitely has its flaws (it’s quite stereotypical) but it’s a fast, sexy read. I found that this book kept me interested and I didn’t get bored, but I was hoping for some not so stereotypical plot devices. Sadly, I didn’t get any. Brandi is quite innocent, has only gone to bed with anyone once She was forced into bed by many men , and does not initially want to have any relation with Sebastian. On the other hand, Sebastian is an expert in the sexy time territory, he’s super hot, he runs a successful business, makes lots of money, and has many other tropes that women are looking for in their sexy hero.

I’m somewhat glad that this book is not the first in the series (it’s 0.5), because it seems far to typical for a romance novel. It gets tiring reading the same pair with just a tiny difference get the same romantic plot and ending. The two characters dislike each other, than one of them develops feelings, and then they get together, but conflict ensues and they break up, only to get back together and have a happy ending. It’s typical and boring, but at least Lori Foster’s skill of writing makes up for the very typical storyline.

Overall, I enjoyed this novel. I got to turn my brain off for a while and enjoy myself. Would I have liked some wicked plot twists? Yes. Nonetheless, it’s still a great book.

Strengths: This novel is a quick read. Lori Foster does an amazing job at keeping the plot moving forward and not having any holes that makes the reader want to put the book down. All of the characters and plot devices didn’t seem out of place either. This book is a great, quick romance read for the avid romance reader.

Weaknesses: This book is typical. It’s hard to find an atypical romance novel these days, so if you are looking for something out of the ordinary in the romance department, this book is not for you.

Score: 3 out of 5.

I really enjoyed this book, but it didn’t hit the ball out of the park for me. I will definitely read more by Lori Foster, but I’m not grasping for another novel by her immediately. I would recommend this book for romance readers because it’s a beautifully written story!! Overall, it’s a good book! Lori Foster knows how to write her romance.

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

