February Romance Book Review: No Risk Refused by Cara Summers

13263357

Book Review
Book Title: No Risk Refused
Book Author: Cara Summers

Introduction: My friend gave me a whole bunch of random novels she found at a bookstore that she didn’t want to read, so I decided to pick this book up!

Review:

No Risk Refused was a mysterious romance novel that will hit well with readers – it just didn’t with me. Maybe it’s because I’ve read a lot of just mystery books and just romance books, but this book didn’t hit a home run with me. I found many of the plot devices/lines to be stereotypical, and I guessed a lot of the book. I also found it to be quite slow in plot movement, which doesn’t keep readers like me interested for very long. It took quite a long time to finish this book, and when it was over I was left feeling bland and bored.

That being said, it did have some great parts (I just didn’t like it as a whole). The relationship itself between the characters was very sexy and romantic (although the trope or old friendship rekindling into a romance seemed over used within many books). The Scottish legend was a great twist on the typical tropes, and I truly enjoyed it. I don’t often see Scottish legends in books like these. The danger, suspense and lore was a great positive aspect of this novel that I would love to see more of in future books! Also, it was incredibly sexy…Gotta love adult, romance reads!

There were many layers within the novel that kept me continuing to read this novel, but the negatives outweighed the positives for me.

There were sections of this novel that had me scratching my head – secret missions being totally public – what’s the point of a “secret” mission if everyone knows it?

Overall, it was a good read, but compared to other books I wasn’t totally impressed. I would definitely suggest this for romance readers who want a different spin on their novels.

One out of five stars.

Published by

briarsreviews

I'm a Canadian book, television and film reviewer. I accept review requests! Feel free to leave a comment if you are interested in specific reviews. I accept review requests on this website or via briarramses@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

